C2E2 2017: The Green Scar Unleashed

On April 21-23 2017 McCormick Place hosted the annual C2E2 (Chicago Comic & Entertainment Expo). I was fortunate to attend on Saturday and Wow was it a day!

hulk-armorIn addition to running around seeing some amazing artists and celebrities I was dressed to impress. I have spent the last few months creating my Gladiator Hulk costume and finished some last minute changes the night before and was ready to smash. Overall I think it came out really well. The response from other people at the Con seemed incredibly positive.

I had originally debated not doing it but with the release of the Thor: Ragnarok trailer I had to represent for the Hulk. Seeing the Hulk at C2E2 is rare. I’m glad I went ahead with it.

 

You can see some other photos of me taking out my aggression on Iron Man and Harry Potter below.

I met Jim Cheung who did the covers for the 3-issue series ‘Hulk: Unchained’ and he signed the second issue for me. Very nice guy. I also was finally able to get my Young variant of Indestructible Hulk #1 signed by Skottie Young. I just love his baby version of Hulk and could not pass up the opportunity.

The highlight of my visit was meeting Carlo Pagulayan, who was the Penciler for many of the Incredible Hulk issues that debuted the original Planet Hulk storyline. The Planet Hulk story is easily one of my, if not most, favorite comics. The art treatment in it was also so vivid and rich. I had to have him sign my copy of Incredible Hulk #92.

hulkcomics1

It also so happens I had a blank variant copy of Planet Hulk #1 (Secret Wars) and I was able to request a sketch commission on it. Yes, they were two different story lines with the same name, but to have one of the original artists do a planet hulk cover for me was amazing. As you can see from the photo it turned out incredible *wink*!!

Currently they are all out for CGC and should be back soon. Till then I wait with baited breath.

In non-Hulk news I also met Rob Liefeld (creator of Deadpool) who signed my copy of the Deadpool movie. I met Troy Baker (voice actor from The Last of Us and Bioshock Infinite) who signed my old PS3 copy of Last of Us. And of course I snagged a couple cool figures and a few Hulk comics I’ve had on my radar (Wolverine #8 for example).

All in all it was an amazing experience. Can’t wait for next year.

 

Leave a Reply

