Indiana Comic Con 2016

From April 29 to May 1st, 2016  Indiana Comic Con was in full swing. I typically only attended conferences in the Chicago Land area (notably C2E2 and Wizard World). Well this year I was able to visit Indianapolis to take part in how they handle geekdom in Indiana.

Right off the bat I should mention the convention center is smaller then what I am used to in Chicago. I would say the convention was about 1/3 the size of C2E2. Half of it was artist alley and the other half was primarily comic dealers with other assorted shops in-between.

13094197_10153665259326347_2359242949373238280_nBut I did not come here for shopping. I came to meet and get autographs from some legendary artists. The first being George Perez. His work spanning both DC and Marvel in various books including Hulk, Wonder Woman, and The Avengers to name a few. His specific contributions to Hulk is his collaboration with Peter David on the Future Imperfect story line. Perez did the art for the comic. He also did illustrations for the novel ‘What Savage Beast’ written by Peter David (I highly recommend this book by the way). I was able to secure a signature for both copies of Part 1 and 2 of Future Imperfect. They were sent out to also be co-signed by Peter David. So if all goes well I will be the proud owner of Future Imperfect signed by both creators.

The second artist I was interested in was Bernie Wrightson. Though admittedly he did not do much regarding the Hulk. He is responsible for the cover for Incredible Hulk #197 and he did do the art for a Hulk Vs Thing graphic novel #29. I was there more for my interest in his Frankenstein work.

13124600_10153665259386347_691506686194382328_nIn addition to these I planned to submit a comic to a CGC partner to attain a Stan Lee signature. I had a comic in mind, but then a miracle happened. While going through each of the comic vendors at the show I noticed a lot of interesting comics. But nothing truly amazing within my price range. I decided to check out one last vendor, just about to give up, and I discovered a gem. I located an Incredible Hulk #105! An early issue from the series rebooted years after the initial release was cancelled. I always loved the cover. I even own a canvas print I have hung in my room. Not only was it rare, it was only $17! Yes, the comic was a bit beaten up, but for that price (when most places online were asking easily $50) I couldn’t walk away. So I bought it!

13077092_10153665259441347_7095572322158604044_nI then had to decide which I would send out to get signed. That is until I looked at the first page of the comic and noticed who the editor was. My decision was made then and there. So the comic is now set to be signed by Stan (the man) Lee at the convention in Florida.

I will not see my comics for quite some time, but I am excited. I wish I could’ve attended to see Stan Lee or Peter David in person. But time and money being what it is this is the best I could do. I am happy I got to meet Stan Lee briefly a couple years back. And hopefully Peter David will return to Chicago in the future. I have plenty more comics he can sign for me.

 

In the meantime I shall wait patiently for an amazing day when my comics shall return.

Get smashed!

13082615_10153665259396347_5715410962555730450_n

The ads in this comic, being from 1968, were very interesting. Especially this ad offering autographed photos of Stan Lee for only a $1.00

 

 

Leave a Reply

