The Hulk Revealed…

So it’s been confirmed the new Hulk will be Amadeus Cho. The whiz kid seen before hanging around Bruce Banner. I am not really surprised by this since the idea was offered weeks ago. Honestly, I don’t like it. And it’s not even the fact that this is a kid or he’s Korean. It’s the fact they have removed all the pathos and depth of the original character. They also seem to have given him a device that allows him to change at will. So no more anger. They have basically stripped him of the things that attracted me to the character in the first place.¬†

Now I know this is Marvel re-inventing itself and they are trying to be more diverse and make the Hulk more marketable. But they seem to have butchered this character more then any of the others. I’m actually pretty disappointed.

However, I will reserve final judgement till after I read a couple issues. I will at least plan to buy the first issue and go from there. I know the Hulk has gone through many iterations in order to keep the story fresh and this isn’t the first time people have been upset with Marvel’s direction with the character. Banner isn’t gone and things could always switch back to him in time.

So I will wait, but as of now I am very concerned.

Leave a Reply

